TWIT to Woo?

Using twitter as a marketing tool.

There is much discussion and debate about social media these days, and no wonder as there are so many varying opinions and so many different uses. That said, since I have become a newly christened twittaholic I have seen things that, for me at least, seem to be big dos, and don’ts.

  •  You have yourself a blog, much like this one, but…er, cooler. You want the world to know it, see it, love it.
  • You’re an aspiring or published author/writer and you wish to sell your books.
  • You’re a crafter and you wish to sell your wares.

DO: Fight your urge too immediately open up a twitter account and tweet the very first thing that pops into your head. Okay, okay so I may have done that *cough cough* and odds are you will to. It’s very exciting stuff!

Really put some thought into the true purpose of having a twitter account, makes sense right? After all, if you’re opening it you must have a purpose. Mine was purely social at the start. I began by following friends, then expanded from there. Find people you like, have things in common with, whose tweets you just simply enjoy. Follow, follow, and then follow some more. If you’re lucky they’ll follow you back, if you’re really lucky some of their followers will opt to follow you back too. THEN hit them with your blog/wares/etc. Once you have some solid relationships the world wide door is open.

Be nice! I know, it sounds silly but we all need to remind ourselves of this overlooked fact once in awhile. It’s very easy to get online and forget that you’re projecting both yourself as a person as well as your brand/image. Easier still sometimes to forget about the fact that twitter, minus all the damn spambots, consists of real people and not merely words on a screen. So be supportive, be kind, be nice. In this day and age, it’ll attract you a lot of attention. :)

Come up with catchy funny taglines. They shows off your creativity and they do work.

It’s a big big world online and while you might be heading for bed, those across the pond are just waking up, so be sure to tweet your blog/product twice a day at opposite ends to ensure you’re hitting late crown and a morning crowd. NOTE:  Used on an every other day basis this is solid advice. If you promote the same thing in the same way all the time, people won’t even register it.

DON’T:  Abuse your followers. Meaning don’t bombard them and don’t take them for granted. They are the ones who’ll favourite your tweets and RT them, so never think of your followers as just numbers. Interact with them, follow them, RT them too. I’ve truly come to find that for the most part, when I go into twitter thinking “what can I do to help someone else out today?” that’s when everything clicks. It’s very much a two way street so if you support and promote others, they in turn will do the same for you.

Don’t create mutliple accounts thinking we won’t figure it out. And yes, people do it. I know one person who has three accounts and tweets all the same things/links etc. Very nice person, lovely writer…but seriously? UNFOLLOW.

NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER EVER DO THIS: When someone decides to follow you, NEVER EVER TWEET THEM BACK A LINK OR DM THEM A LINK TO YOUR SITE. Just say thanks and move on. We’re on twitter, we’re not idiots, if we decided to follow you it’s safe to assume we know who you are, and what you do. Or at the very least, we can click on your damn profile link IF WE FEEL LIKE IT. I’m sure everyone here can attest to the fact that IF you do this it’s an automatic UNFOLLOW.

This is my own basic take on things and I’m sure there’s LOTS more that I’m missing.

I have to say that for me, personally, twitter has been a very positive experience. I’ve met some truly gifted, talented and caring people.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to TWIT to Woo?

  1. Good round up, Tams, and I agree with your findings. For me, all the wonderful connections I’ve made have been through just been being silly having a laugh, or discussing things in a conversation. Occasionally someone new pops along and then they become part of the larger fabric.

    It really is a great tool, and if used correctly could be really beneficial.

    And besides, I met you on twitter so it’s got to be awesome :)

  2. CDNWMN says:

    I feel the same way Colin, and you ARE awesome. Truly. :)

  3. Anne Michaud says:

    Good tips, Tams – especially the one about those pesky auto-follows who DM links to buy their books. I wonder if it ever works out for them, but much I you, I automatically unfollow.

    #writercult

  4. Thanks for this…great advice!

    I disagree on one point, however…the multiple accounts. I have my main account for friends, writerly associates, and general fans, and accounts geared to fans of specific books. Sometimes I cross-tweet, but I also compose tweets to the specific followers of each account. It’s kind of like having my main Facebook page, and then fan pages for specific books. I, personally, don’t think there’s anything wrong with that and hope people follow whichever account interests them most.

    Now, can you write a post on coming up with funny, catchy taglines? Please? :-)

    • CDNWMN says:

      Lol, I’ll try Devin! And yes, for a well pubbed author in multiple genres like yourself, it DOES make sense to have multiple accounts. Excellent point. The person I mentioned simply pimps poetry from the same blog over and over from different accounts. For someone like yourself, who covers both YA and adult publications, it really makes sense what you do. :)

  5. Marianne Su says:

    IMO Rule #1 for twitter is to be yourself. You can spot those who aren’t and it totally takes away from the charm of twitter…Keep it real. (139 characters!)

  6. Wonderful post, Tammy. I see so pet peeves that push me to unfollow as well – I like a bit of personality in people’s tweets, so I generally don’t follow/unfollow people who never send out anything except promotions. Like you, twitter’s a social connection. And by the best of luck I’ve met some incredible people!

  7. *snicker* I know who you’re talking about with the three accounts ;-)
    Great post, Tams!
    Twitter can be a lot of fun and a great marketing tool at the same time! I’ve meet some awesome people on there as well….ahem…present company included ;-)

  8. dannigrrl says:

    I LOVE Twitter. I was scared and intimidated at first, but I can’t live without it now. All your points are excellent. Especially about DMing links. Don’t EVER do that! :)

  9. T. James says:

    Honest, funny and informative. Nice post Tammy. I think on Twitter you are very definitely you. That is a GOOD thing BTW. :-)

  10. Gareth says:

    A cracking post and one thats a lot of use. I really have no idea what I’m doing with the damn thing, so all I do is have it set up to auto tweet what comes up on my blog. It saves me a lot of faffing and it means that its all auto. Yay.

  11. Pat Hollett says:

    I loved the follow and the DM with the website comment. I’ve had that…total turnoff! Thanks for saying it…although I can always count on you for honesty and speaking your mind. Wonderful stuff and well written. Thanks for sharing! :)

  12. Ren Warom says:

    This is some very sound advice… I’ll get round to following it at some point ;P

    Honestly, I just use twitter as a place to spew the odd leavings of my often disastrous efforts at thought, ramble out countless inanities and banter with intelligent folk. I do link my blog, I do retweet and do all that #ww and #ff nonsense, but most of all I am there to have fun.

    I *am* genuinely crap with people, so twitter is a god send. Helps me to keep vaguely social without having to do anything scary… like leave my hovel.

  13. Great advice! I started Twitter only a few months ago and use it as a promotional tool so yep, I agree these tips are top tips indeed :) I also agree with Marianne’s comment about being yourself, but strangely that seems the hardest one to do! I always second guess myself lol and end up not tweeting things because I’ve over analyzed it lol!

Leave a Reply

