Got Goals? Put it in print.

Well it’s THAT time of year again. You know the one. Where we tell ourselves all about a wonderful fresh clean start until the first of March when we’ve already forgotten our great ideals. Well this year, I’m here for you! 🙂 

Post your goals here and you can bet I’ll be keeping a log of each person and goal they dare to state so BE WARNED!!!!!! I WILL hound your asses until you achieve it! Or at least until I know you’ve done your bestest to make it happen for yourself.

I will be reposting summaries of the completed list, along with quarterly progress updates, to be sure we’re all on track. So don’t say it if you don’t really mean it, and really don’t say if you don’t want to be kicked in the pants by me on a regular basis. ;P 

Come on, I double dog dare ya! 😛 

My own personal theme for 2012 is “Self Revitalization” 

–          I’m going back to night school. Starting January I’m going to take two online courses. Before my son was born, I was in night school the better part of the 10yrs while working full time. So in sticking to my theme, I’m going to go back to finding time for things I enjoy, and education is definitely something I enjoy.

–          I’m going to lose 10lbs in January, 5 in February, and 5 in March. And, no, the pounds themselves aren’t really the BIG focus, simply a target to aim for. I used to be a tri-athlete, not a very good one, but I did it damn it. In fact, before my son was born I was up to about 6 to 8 sprint type races a year, even finished an Olympic distance race…once. I’ve been lazy for far too long and now that my son is old enough, I want it to be part of his lifestyle too, for the both of us.

–          I’m going to finally finish my MS and get it submitted. I’ve been procrastinating for far too long, letting myself get distracted with foolish things, like twitter and blogging. 😉 lol. So this is going to be the year that I make it happen for myself. 

These big goals are all broken down into smaller ones that will help me to achieve them. For example, I plan to do three tri’s this year and I’ve set a daily word counts for myself, that sort of thing. Small achievable goals will help you reach your overall ones. 

So what’s your theme going to be for 2012? What is it you wish to see accomplished for yourself? Big or small, I hope you join in the fun. 

My ass kicking boots are on, laced, and ready when you are. Be bold, 2012 is YOUR year!

This entry was posted in Daily Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Got Goals? Put it in print.

  1. Sure, I’m brave enough. Hard part will be choosing the one to put here.
    I will….get to the gym 4 days a week minimum with a goal of 10lbs before my birthday in July (sounds easy, but it’s so hard to make the numbers drop…)

    By the way, LOVE the picture you’re using for the Bleeding Ink anthology. So sexy.

  2. Good luck with your goals, Tams. You’ll totally do it!

  3. T. James says:

    Tams, you’re already a lean, mean writing machine… with this tune up you will be unstoppable! Just remember not to lose too much weight, or you won’t have anywhere to store all the stuff you’ll be learning at night school. 😉

    For 2012 my aim is simple – to actually get some work out there. Do I risk a short with some very positive reviews, but only from less than half of my betas? Will my name be forever dead and buried in readers minds? There may be only one way to find out…My aim is to do, or die trying…

  4. Casi says:

    Hi!

    Good goals.

    My condensed version is:
    1. Move for 30 minutes, 3 times a week (when I don’t have to)
    2. Read 15 new authors, and at least 100 books this year (and post reviews on all new reads)
    3. Write at least 16 blog posts a month, every month
    4. Write 10,000 words of fiction, on a longer work (or equivalent in editing) every month.

    But if you want to read my so much longer post you can always follow along to my blog. Let’s encourage each other!

    • CDNWMN says:

      Hihi!!! *hugs* I’ve missed you Casi, it’s been ages, so glad you stopped in. 🙂 I will def check out your post and support you in any way i can. Those are some kick ass goals. 🙂

  5. My intention is to release six new books in 2012: a combination of novels and novellas. Of course I always remind myself that the best way to make God laugh is to tell Her your plans!

    Good luck with your own goals!!

  6. Gareth says:

    Goals, hmmm to get a number of pieces submitted to friends as I’ve been slacking off on the writing front. I’m only looking at short pieces at the mo though.

    Other than that to achieve my reading goals for the year.

    • CDNWMN says:

      You always achieve your reading goals G, it’s amazing how much you cover on your blog. 🙂 As for the story…oh ya, i’m on ya, get er done!!! 😉

  7. I’ve got a pile of them. Like you, lose weight, and get more work done on my writing. I posted them to my blog so I can poke myself when I need too. Heh, I can help with prodding you, if you like. 😀

  8. Pat Hollett says:

    I love the ambitious lists of goals you’ve got Tam. And, everyone else as well!! Some great goals for 2012! By the way, I’m gonna be on YOU like white on rice if you don’t ‘get er done’, so watch out!! As for me…finish my manuscript, beta, submit, and finish off the draft of number 2 in the series. It doesn’t sound like much, but I may just blog about my goals when I figure them all out.
    I’m here for ya babe! You’ll do it! 🙂

  9. Michael Segui says:

    Throw out or donate 75% of my stuff and lose 20 lbs by December 2012

    • CDNWMN says:

      Sweet!!!! You and me bro, psst…maybe we can convince Chris too eh? *nods* 😉 And seriously thanks for stopping by, always fun to see ‘regs’ around here. hehee 😛

  10. Tania Dakka says:

    Love your ass-kicking boots!! Mine match!! I don’t know what it is about this year, but there is an electricity in the air and I am feeling the best for all!!

  11. Hmmm, goals. Well, there’s the usual and the most important- no ER visits and no hospital admissions. 2011 was a big miss on those as you know.

    Related to those, I need to exercise more and eat better. I am going to start walking again and I’ve started doing yoga. Back before all of my chronic illnesses struck, I used to do walk-a-thons on a regular basis. I’m also pursuing a surgery option for my lungs.

    I am going to cut back on review reading and do more reading just for fun, I miss it.

    That’s it. It’s enough I think for now.

    • CDNWMN says:

      I think those are all excellent goals Bea. 🙂 Walking and yoga, so good for both body and soul, my biggest moments of inspiration usually strike me on a nice walk around the park. 🙂 And I am praying for good health for you this year and always. *hugs*

  12. I’m a little scared to write this down, Tammy…I know you mean it when you say you’re gonna be on my ass to keep it up 😉

    So I’m going to stick to something I’ve been chanting for the past few weeks. With return to work looming in a few weeks I’ve been telling myself that this time I’m going to make more time for me and my family. Work is not going to be come all consuming as it has in the past. That’s going to be hard for me…really hard…but I can’t keep up the pace anymore, not when there are more important things in life. So that’s my goal…work will not become all consuming!

    • CDNWMN says:

      Don’t be afraid Ang, be VERY afraid. 😉 lol! I will be on you, but I think you might surprise yourself this year, I think it will come easier for you because you’ve done the hardest part, put thought into it. 🙂

  13. BigBear85 says:

    *Rolls out of it cave yawn* A little late than never I always say…well I try say but any way goals for the lush 2012 hmmm…
    1) Be more active I have been using my working on third shift as a crutch time to get the ball rollin

    2) Exercise(i know everyone says that 🙂 ) Big Bear has gotten rather…plump for the winter gotta fix that so starting in Feb gonna be hitting the pavement and the weights again

    3) Gonna finish edit my three shorts I started late last year then find some eye balls to beta for me

    4) final goal for 2012 completely outline my novel, I have to start doing this in more depth and get better at it, its a must.

    Well I have now put this in print on the page of the one women that strikes fear into the hearts of those mere mortals who dare to tread within her realm(luckily I am a bear) now I just hope she doesn’t beat me with in an inch of my life 😉

Leave a Reply

