How to Write the Perfect Blog (or just get people to read yours) :P

I’m about to break my first rule of Blogging, BUT, I’ve been asked this funny question enough times now I’ve finally decided to write about it.   

The Question: “What makes your blog so good and how do I do it?” 

My Response: “Surely it must be my rapier wit, solid grasp of grammar, and charming good looks? *grins, clears throat* Um, no? Well then, I’ve no idea.” 

All I can offer to you is what I like and don’t like about blogs in general so here’s my list, I hope you find a gem; 

  1. DO NOT OVERSELL YOURSELF. Um, ya, it’s your blog, it’s about you, written by you, and for you, and don’t you think that’s enough YOU in the room? Don’t keep pounding your products/books/gimmicks down our throats with every single post. If we like you, and we’re at your blog, we’re smart enough to find all the pertinent info we need/want about you. Got a special event or new release? Post away! Just avoid the “it’s all me, all the time, and please buy my stuff!’ syndrome. It’s a total groaner and a top ten causer of mini throw-up.
  2. MAKE IT PRETTY. Come on, we all know we’re visual creatures by nature, so put some piccy’s in, mix up your font colour, caps, bold etc, it really does help break up all those boring words we love to write.
  3. DON’T PREACH. Um, ya, *clears throat* just skip ahead to the next point. 😛
  4. KEEP IT SHORT. Remember, you’re not the only busy person in the world. I really try to avoid posting anything over 500 words. If people can see the whole post in a short scroll they’re much more likely to invest the time to read it.
  5. BE YOU. Show me who you really are and let me relate to you. Facebook was stated to be one of the greatest depressants because people only post the VERY best parts of their lives. Don’t let your blog be all sparkles and rainbows ALL the time. Be positive sure, but keep it real too. 🙂
  6. BE PASSIONATE.  A blog is not just a tool in the toolkit, so don’t write it that way. Write it like you mean it.  That way, even if you screw it up, or if I don’t agree with your stance, I’ll know you didn’t just splat random words on the page and it was actually something you cared and spoke from the heart about.
  7. ALWAYS END WITH A QUESTION. People want to leave their opinion on something. It makes them feel special. Plus, it’s my fav part of writing and reading a blog. So much talent, wisdom, and humour out there, tap it!!!

Well that about sums it up for me, please have at it, I can’t wait to hear your thoughts, it seems we all could use some great tips when it comes to blogging. 🙂

Keep an eye out for my upcoming follow up blog topics *cackles*  
–          What turns people on/off in regards to blog design and layout. 
–          Tweeting – how to use it to your BEST advantage! 
–          New Years post, there will be resolutions made by YOU, and I will track them and hound you until completion. BE WARNED!!!
This entry was posted in Daily Blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to How to Write the Perfect Blog (or just get people to read yours) :P

  1. CDNWMN says:

    One thing to start off the discussion, is a blog even necessary? We all blog/comment on each others mostly yes? So, could we better use our time elsewhere? An interesting debate in itself.

  2. I don’t end my posts with a question. Sure, I like to hear from people, but a lot of what I post would sound awkward with a question on the end.

  3. I looked up what kinds of blogs my favorite authors have and was surprised to discover that most didn’t have one. Most send out monthly newsletters, although some have blogs which are very “newsy” and didn’t allow for discussion. In addressing your question, perhaps that’s why they’re so successful…they spend their writing time writing books! 🙂

  4. kathils says:

    #4 is a biggie in my book. There are a couple blogs I enjoy but sometimes hit on a post that is way too long. I only have so much time to spend reading blogs. KISS! As for the necessity of blogs . . .undecided. I enjoy mine. I really enjoy days when I get a lot of hits. But I know it takes away from my fiction writing. Then again, just like my fiction, I’m driving to occasionally share ramblings with the masses. Hence, two blogs. Maybe not necessary to the world or my “career” as an author, but necessary to me.

  5. S Jarkins says:

    Great post Tammy. Although I think #1 is most salient. I can’t stand authors who only blog about their books, how wonderful they are etc. (I also unfollow those on Twitter who just tweet about their offerings.)

    • CDNWMN says:

      Yes! I know exactly what you mean about twitter and I do the same. Some, sure, but every darn tweet? Ugh… 😛

    • I used to just tweet about my books, but that was before I discovered TweetDeck and figured out I could interact with people! LOL! Oh, that embarrassing learning curve…

      Now it’s a fine line. I worry I tweet too much about my books, but I have to say that I am stunned by how many new fans I pick up on Twitter. It is probably my #1 source of book sales. However, I honestly hesitate each time I put out a tweet about my books for fear I’ll turn some people off. It is a challenge to find that balance.

      I’ve heard some people say authors should never, ever mention their books on Twitter, but I disagree. I’m there to discover new authors, websites, blogs, etc., and I think many people are there for the same reasons.

      Looking forward to Tammy’s blog on tweeting! 🙂

  6. Gareth says:

    LOL, thanks for this Tammy, I love reading your blog as it entertains. A wonderful post and to be honest I’m like you, I don’t know what makes a blog good but I know what I enjoy and its great to have writerly friends. I’m considering submitting for a certain anthology.

  7. I hear you about the length for sure…I’ve stumbled on quite a few blogs that have these super long posts and I skip most of the writing because it’s just too much!

    And I know how what people don’t like…white on black font colour 😉 lmao…speaking from experience.

    Great post, Tammy.

    • CDNWMN says:

      I’ll be addressing that font concern in the blog design post. I have seen it used on tons of blogs and some i love and some i don’t, it’s not the white on black that i think is the ‘real’ issue. I’m still digging and will be hitting you up for info!!! 🙂

  8. Pat Hollett says:

    There were so many good points, hard to pick one that stands out above the others. Length is a biggie like Ang says. Too long-skip through…just not enough time to read someone’s manuscript on their blog. KISS is probably a good motto…Keep it simple/keep it sweet/keep it short-stupid! Yep, that says it all.
    Hate the preaching especially writers/authors selling themselves and their books. Like Devin says, there has to be a fine line between social networking and selling.
    Good blog again Tam! Well said! 🙂

    • CDNWMN says:

      Life is all about balance. Well, that’s what people keep saying but since I’ve never been able to achieve it I can only assume it’s a myth. 😛 Thanks for stopping by Babe. 🙂

      • T. James says:

        “Fully defeated by just anyone, the dark side cannot be, but only by the Chosen One. And who might be this Jedi? Know I do not, but not yet born is he or she. This much, sense I can. A vessel of pure Force the Chosen One will be, more powerful than any Jedi in history.”
        ―Yoda, from the Great Holocron.

        I’m sorry you are not the Chosen One, yet you Know much…but remember, oh Stick Bearer, with great power comes great responsibility.

  9. CDNWMN says:

    Oh man TJ you always make me smile. 🙂

  10. Marianne Su says:

    Blogs have to be real, and by that I mean that when I read it, I want to feel like I know a bit about the person who’s writing it. Personality and honesty and a sense that they enjoy it, not just going through the motions for publicity. Those are the blogs I enjoy and come back to…including yours, Tammy. I look forward to your follow up posts!

  11. An excellent list, Tammy! And I do come here for your wit and amazing good looks. 😉

  12. Good post, Tammy. Not sure I agree with all the points, but certainly I think posts should be passionate and at least say something. I personally don’t mind longer posts, if it’s interesting. Sometimes I get annoyed with short posts that don’t really say anything or go anywhere. I’d rather the blogger had waited a few days to make it more interesting. But I suppose that’s what makes the internet what it is – something that caters for everyone’s tastes.

    Keep up the great work, and I wish you a happy and productive 2012 🙂

  13. diannewaye says:

    Some writers are shy about selling their own work. Others market with a sledgehammer approach. A balance between the two would be nice. And I don’t mind a longer word length, as long as the post comes with a passionate eureka moment.
    Lots to think about, as usual Tammy, which is why I’m drawn to your blog. 🙂

    • CDNWMN says:

      If it’s a story or flash I certainly don’t mind if it runs long. 🙂 Only bugs me when it’s an info type piece. They tend to get too preachy when it gets wordy, I just want them to get to the point and move on. 😛

  14. Ren Warom says:

    I like to mix it up as I’ve the attention span of a gnat and, if I’m honest, I like other blogs that mix it up too. And I adore humour in blogs, especially full on gonzo, gut ripping humour.

    I’ll say this, until I decided to just be my damned idiot self and say everything in a blog post however it came into my diseased little brain, I struggled. Now, if I can’t think of anything to say, I don’t and, if it wants to come out weird, well, I let it. Seems to be catching on slowly.

    Not sure about my serial still. I think I need a grittier, less florid storyline to really snag folk into it. A bit of a Tarantino angle. Less characters, more action. So I’m working on an outline. *gasp*

    Oh, and I’m gradually coming around to the idea of flash and poetry – I think both really give great insight into your range as a writer.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Well its YOU we love. You’re humour is such a part of you, it’s fun to see it in print. 🙂 Flash and Poetry are great excercises. Hard to think outside the box if we don’t try it once in awhile and push ourselves. Good for you Ren, I love to hear that people are expanding themselves. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and good luck witht that outline. I bet it’s ‘killer’ 😉

  15. Steve mchugh says:

    An excellent post, Tammy. Some very interesting and helpful points that are sure to come in handy for me in the coming weeks.

  16. Wonderful post Tammy! I agree with pretty much everything. I know I could probably do with more “me” in my blog but I always wonder how much is right. I don’t want to go overboard. I also prefer the shorter posts; time is an issue for me so shorter is better. But, sometimes there are posts that need more space and depth and those I don’t mind.

    I also come here for your shining wit and beauty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

