Publication update, poem, and my Tip of the Week :)

I missed you all and wanted to share some of my good news with you. Awhile back I wrote a poem for challenge posted on Devin O’Branagan’s forum. Chris, one of the members, gave me the idea of Cupid and so I ran with it. I wrote a poem about my version of the ‘real’ meeting between Cupid and Psyche. The poem is entitled Bound and you can find it here under my ‘poetry’ section.

Anyhoo, I submitted it for a competition to the Poetry Institute of Canada and it’s now made it through to the final rounds. It will be published in a verse anthology entitled Fire & Light to be released hardbound in January of 2012, and it’s still in the running for the $500 grand prize! The winner will not be chosen/released until this winter and I will keep you posted. Till then, fingers and toes crossed for me please! 🙂

Meanwhile, I met someone today who inspired the following poem. I hope you enjoy it as it’s proof that even the nastiest people we come across can still inspire us. ;P

She wears her negativity

Like a cloak

Hiding inside herself

The bitter geyser

Sprung from a broken soul

Gushing down the path of life

Leaving destruction

In place of footprints

Tammy’s Tip Of the Week

Build your ‘writing resume’. Enter all kinds of contests and competitions and don’t stop to think about it. Meaning, what’s the worst they can do? Reject it? Big deal. Pull on your big girl panties. No matter how big or small something may seem, in the end it is all meat for the query letter. Diversify yourself. Enter your flash pieces, shorts, poetry, essays, fiction, non-fiction, magazines and newspapers articles. It might seem small and insignificant when you think of it individually, but it adds up to quite a tidy bulk of ‘published’ work and shows that your multifaceted. So get out there and be bold. Do everything you can to build your footprint in the world.

Cheers and thanks for stopping by to read/comment. I truly appreciate all your support  and I’m blessed to have it. Peace and plotmares! 🙂

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Publication update, poem, and my Tip of the Week :)

  1. sallyawolf says:

    Brake a leg you deserve it!

  2. Great poem, great advice and great big congratulations on Bound! Proud and happy for you, Tammy.

  3. T. James says:

    Congratulations on getting Bound through to the final rounds. 🙂 Have you worked out what you’re going to spend the $500 on? 😉

    I love the above poem, and I have a newbie question, why arrange the words in that way? No criticism implied, I’m curious as a poetry novice…

    A challenging tip. I’ve never entered my work for anything… I wonder when you know you’re ready?

    • CDNWMN says:

      You’re never ready! No try only DO or Do Not. 😉 Brian Henry gave us the kick in the pants in our writing workshop to explore and put ourselves out there. I’m just trying to spread around his kick in the pants. hehe! As for the words, I really have no specific reasoning. It’s just about, um, the ‘feel’ I suppose. I have no formal poetry training, I know none of the proper rules or formats, I simply write it, and lay it out, how I feel it. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful there TJ, it was a great question. 🙂

  4. Congrats on the competition, Tams, and wonderful advice. 🙂

  5. John Wiswell says:

    Wow, congratulations on making it to those finals! And further congratulations for the publication. Good luck for the grand prize!

  6. Loved the evil poem, Tammy. I use my writing as my own therapy. It helps me deal with people like that. 😉 And congrats and good luck on the poem! I’m so bad about that. I never take the time to find places to sub my work. Partly because many won’t take it once it’s on my blog and I don’t have “spares” but I really need to put some effort into that.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Even places like Pill Hill are great, if you don’t get paid for it you still get the ‘credit’ of being published and you retain your rights. With the Poetry Institute I retain all rights throughout and following the decision and there are no restrictions to the author. Get hunting!! 🙂

  7. Ren Warom says:

    First of all, congrats on the success! *woots*

    Secondly that’s a cracking little poem.

    And third. Excellent advice. I entered a comp on a whim last month. Dunno what’ll happen but that’s half the fun. I dont write many stories but those I write I try to throw about a bit. It all helps in building that rep.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Good for you Ren! My fingers crossed for you! And it’s a neat process really, I’ve submitted the same piece to several different places, some hate it, some pub it. You just never know what can happen. 🙂

  8. Bea says:

    Congratulations Tammy! That’s awesome news. I’ll keep my fingers crossed. 🙂

  9. Pat Hollett says:

    An excellent poem! And I really hope you win! You deserve it! 🙂

  10. Marianne Su says:

    Congratulations, Tammy. Love the poem. Amazing how a few lines can capture and describe something so clearly. Good advice, too. I get a rush from sending out my writing.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Thanks Mari……anne. 😉 I do too. I sit so eagerly waiting to hear one way or the other. It’s all good and I don’t take rejection personally, what one doesn’t like, someone else loves. Just gotta keeping fighting.

  11. I knew, I knew!!!!
    So happy for you!
    And I love this new poem too!

    Great tip this week…so true, what’s the worse that can happen? Rejection is part of the journey 😉

  12. Gareth says:

    Congrats and a great tip. Its really helps to get encouragement to submit to competitions as well as publishers.

  13. diannewaye says:

    Wow – such great news. I’m rooting for you to win !

    Awww – that’s so adorable that you wrote a poem about my temper tantrum when I found out about my leaking basement foundation – bitter geyser indeed! Just kidding LOL!

  14. rosereads says:

    I love this blog!!. Yippee for twitter leading me some where amazing. I am going to be putting those big girl panties on again.

  15. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. I like the poem very much! Good luck with your other poem in the competition too 🙂 I’ll keep my fingers crossed for the prize money for you.

  17. Congratulations! I’m thrilled to watch you grow as a writer; you are an inspiration to me. You add so much to my writers’ forum, and I’m grateful to have you as a member. You light the way for so many others!

Leave a Reply

