Book Reivew of Senior Year Bites & my 10second/10question interview with the Author!

The Book: Senior Year Bites by Author J.A. Campbell  

Senior year is supposed to be fun: boys, dances and graduation.  It’s significantly harder to enjoy it when you’re dead.
 
Truth or Dare is supposed to be fun too. It’s not even close to dangerous, so playing at Steph’s house didn’t seem like a bad idea. My dare? Spend the rest of the night in the graveyard next to her house. No big deal, right? Right.
 
I survived the attack, but it took me a few days to figure out what was going on. I mean vampires might stalk pop culture, but they’re just myths. Yeah. Not so much.
 
School is a lot more difficult when you’re a nocturnal creature of the night. I was managing, but I couldn’t keep it hidden from my friends for long. After I managed to accidentally save one of our cheerleaders from her drunk and ill-intentioned boyfriend Steph decided that we should be cool, like superheroes, and fight crime.
 
Only I’m a vampire, not a hero, and we live in a sleepy New England town, so crime’s a
little harder to come by. At least it is until a serial killer moves into the area. He’s got
the authorities stumped, but then again, the cops don’t have a teenage, blood-sucking,
non-hero on their team.  
                                                                

My 10 Second Book Review 

This is not your average teen supernatural/vampire type novel. No sparkles here people. The characters manage to be both refreshing and surprising. 

Since sarcasm is my natural state it makes this series my new BFF.

The best part, the pace. I find that many novels in the young adult genre are verrrrryyy slloooooowwwwwwww paced. Like teens are slow! Have you seen them text people??? This story moves at a ‘real’ teen pace.

The ‘romance’ aspect was subtle and perfect. For once it wasn’t simply ‘all about a boy/girl’. It was an actual story. Well, hey, they’re teens, so of course there’s gotta be some toe tingling sexual tension, but at least it wasn’t the only tension. The whole ‘a girl’s gotta eat’ part had plenty of that too. 😉

Based on First Release by new Author I rate this Novel: 5 fang bites outta 5!

The 10 Question / 10 sec Author Interview

You dedicated your book to Mardel, would you like to share why you chose this particular individual?

We ran into each other on Livejournal and started talking, which led to me sending her some of my Senior Year Bites chapters. She loved them, and since she didn’t know me, she had no reason to lie. It really kept me going at that time, and her constant encouragement and support has kept me going ever since. 

Did you outline and plot it, or wing it?

I come up with a synopsis (dirty word!) and then wing it. Pantzer all the way. 

Who was your favorite character to write?

Oh man, in this book, probably Alexander. He’s an arrogant ass, but he’s a good guy too. I originally intended for him to be the bad guy, but he looked down his nose at me one day and said, “Why would I bother with all that trouble of being a murderer?” He had a point and I went with it. His interactions with Meg really made him a lot of fun to write too. 

What was the most challenging part of writing this book?

 Staying motivated for a “side project.” I never really intended to try and publish SYB. 

Who designed your cover art?

Dara England 

What book are you reading now?

Fallenwood by Leslie Soule 

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Julie Particka, Tiffany King, Jen Wylie, Sean Hayden, Rusty Fisher, Terri-Lynn DeFino (I’ve been reading a lot of new authors this year. These are my Favs so far) 

If you had to choose, who would you consider your writing mentor to be?

Indirectly Kelley Armstrong because of her online writing group and some great advice she gave me way back when. 

What are your current projects?

Summer Break Blues (Sequel to SYB), My first Doc Novella, Editing Nightmare, I could keep going, but this is supposed to be short. LOL. 

What would you like say to your readers out here in ‘We love Julie!’ land?

I love you guys too! Thanks so much for reading my books and encouraging me to keep on writing. 

Tammy’s Tip of the Week

I’m not much of a ‘book reviewer’ per say, really it’s only something I try to do once in awhile to help out a fellow writer pal. Worse yet, I’ve NEVER interviewed anyone before. I was very nervous and had no idea where to start. Which of course led me to thinking, what would I want to read? It came easy after that. Being the straight shooter type that I am came up with the 10/10 concept. More like a teaser than an actual full on interview. So what’s my tip? Listen to your gut peeps. If you want a great concept or blog idea it starts the same way your next great story does, with YOU. People will love it or hate it regardless, so don’t focus on what you think others want to read, focus on what you want to SAY. The rest will fall into place I promise. So sit back, relax, crack a beer….THEN hope like bloody hell they like it. 😉

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Book Reivew of Senior Year Bites & my 10second/10question interview with the Author!

  1. Colin Barnes says:

    Good review Tammy. The interview was good. I like the 10/10 concept 🙂

  2. I love the 10/10 concept! Everyone does interviews, but it’s all about keeping it fresh and putting your own spin on things that keep people coming back. Great tip this week, Tammy. Above all…BE YOURSELF! 😉

  3. Love it Tammy! Great idea and quick too! Excellent interview girls!

  4. Tammy thanks so much! I love the concept of the 10 second interview. I think I’m going to use it in the future. It was fun to do. I’m so glad you liked SYB.

    *hugs*
    Julie/J.A. Campbell

  5. Great review, interview, and tip, Tammy! Your blog is always a delight.

  6. Gareth says:

    Lots of fun for everyone as they say. Nice concept and a great way to go.

  7. Pat Hollett says:

    Loved the intro…especially the part about teens & texting. Too funny! And it rolled right into your quick 10/10 interview questions keeping the pace brisk and fun. Very enjoyable and loved both the questions and answers. Always fun to read your blog and your weekly tip. Definitely not boring!! You always manage to bring humour, wit, sarcasm and fun to the table. 🙂

  8. Anne Michaud says:

    LOVED the interview, Tamster – and those band-aids are hilarious!!

    I just *love* our Fire Foxy Lady’s vamp world – SOOOO refreshing:) I devoured it in a couple days, myself.

  9. Pat Hollett says:

    Okay, I’m a writer, so I can’t stop writing… always enjoy reading about Julie! She’s an interesting person and an inspiration. 🙂

  10. Pat Hollett says:

    I too loved the band-aids…and hmmm..everything!

  11. Pat Hollett says:

    Okay, I’m done now! 😉 Luv ya Tam!

  12. T. James says:

    Hi Tammy, I reckon you have a hit with the 10/10 idea. I’ve not seen it done before, and it strikes a nice balance between a ‘light bite’, and a ‘deep vein’ read. Keep it up. 🙂

  13. Mardel says:

    I think you hit it with one of the best things about Julie’s writing…she gets right into the story and keeps it going. No slow boring parts. I’m looking forward to more from her. Enjoyed your review and interview. and Thanks so much Julie 🙂 you’re a writer to watch, for sure.

  14. Lisa Forget says:

    Tammy, great review and interview. I know I say it every time, but it’s worth repeating….I love your sense of humour! “Have you seen them text people??? ” had me LMAO’ing. So true!!
    Love your 10/10 concept. I agree with Danielle about putting one’s own spin on things, you’ve got a winning format!
    Thanks for sharing with us Julie. Your book is at the top of my TBR list. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into it!
    🙂 Lisa

  15. diannewaye says:

    Great 10/10 concept, Tammy. I love your sense of humour, and your tips of the week.

  16. Heidi says:

    Good review, the pace aspect of it makes me want to read it, never really thought of it before but you’re right, teen novels do tend to be rather slow – why is that? Liked the interview too, haven’t had a chance to read the full thing but enjoyed the chapters I got to read a long time ago, will look for it soon.

  17. Sally A Wolf says:

    Sorry it has taken me so long to read/post I love this great work.

  18. Julie’s book was already on my to-read list, I just seem to be stumbling at the “I don’t have an e-reader” hurdle, but now I’m definitely going to find a way around that!

    I really like your review and interview style too, made me giggle a few times.

Leave a Reply

