Where am I? Oh yeah, Camp Nanowrimo…

Wondering where I’ve been lately? Me too. These days I’m not sure if I’m coming or going.

This month I decided to sign up and try for Camp Nanowrimo. For those not in the know that means you have to write 50,000 words in August  – complete this task, and you get a shiny button like the participant one you see here, only it will say ‘Winner’ on it instead. Ya I know, save the oohing and ahhing for later.

So I work full time, married, 4yr old son, belong to two active online writing groups, and yet in spite of all that; I somehow thought this would be a super fun thing to do.  *head-desk* Oh yeah, and did I forget the part where I’ve also signed up to do a Try-a-Tri (baby triathlon) on Sept 17th? Uh-huh. Brilliant. Now when I’m not working, parenting or writing I’m trying to squeeze in minimal amounts of swimming/biking/running. But do you see me complaining about it?!!! Um, yeah,  well I’m too tired to go back and edit out the whining and besides it wouldn’t leave me with much of a blog this week.  😉

Well as always, it could be worse. I could be in the London Riots, or in Afghanistan, or sporting Robert Pattinson’s latest hair don’t. Think I’ll take being in my own shoes any day.

Sorry to be outta touch peeps, tweeps, and general all round stalkers, but when the month is over I’ll make like Arnie and be baaaack!

Tammy’s Tip of the Week

This one is something I picked up between using Scrivener and doing Camp Nano. First, if you’re a writer, and you don’t have Scrivener, get it. Best tip I could give.

Having to write Nano is a mind trip. I used to write front-to-back, but with Nano, I have to write whatever I can, whenever I can. It’s forced me to become more flexible with my writing, pick out and write scenes and pieces of scenes here and there during breaks/lunches/wee hours/bathroom breaks (oh like you’ve never done it! ;D) and the thing I’m finding is I like it A LOT. Of course it helps that with Scrivener it’s easy to write random bits and then simply click and drag them into order. I’m now niether a Pantzer nor a Plotter, I’m a Plotzer. (you heard it here first, lol!) Writing this way has helped spurn my ambition, and therefore keeps my pace up. Even when I’m dog tired after a long day and a busy kid and all I really just to do is call it quits, I can now find something, somewhere, in my story that fits my mood at the time.  I highly recommend you ‘Give it a Try’ (pun intended) and see where it takes you. You might hate it, or maybe like me, you might just discover a wonderful new way to do what you love and love doing .

Happy writing! 🙂

How’s my nano going? Slowly….but I will NOT BE DEFEATED!!!! (they say if you believe it then it’s not technically a lie). Here’s some of cool stats they give you at Nano taken from my own work in progress;

Average Words Needed Per Day

1,612
Your Average Per Day
1,346
Target Word Count
50,000
Total Words Written
14,500
Current Day
11
Days Remaining
20
At This Rate You Will Finish On
September 6, 2011
Words Per Day To Finish On Time
1,775
This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Where am I? Oh yeah, Camp Nanowrimo…

  1. diannewaye says:

    RPatz has a new do? I’m out of touch – must be from lounging in the sun, poolside. Now I’d like to say I feel sorry for you, but you did sign up for this. Now suck it up, drop and give me ten pushups, pick up that pen and pass the Goldfish crackers and Hot Wheels. To save time, you can live off your kid’s cut-off breadcrusts and air-browned apple slices. Don’t ask me how I know this. Enjoy the Camp Nano, brave one!

  2. CDNWMN says:

    Ah DW you always know just what to say. lol! *does pushups*
    And I know exactly what you mean about crusts and old fruit….saves time making something for yourself if you live off the leftovers eh? 😉 hehe…

  3. Anne Michaud says:

    You can SOOOO do this, Tams! You’re just a hundred words under what your average should be – you can do it! Do it! Do it!

    Go Tammy, go!

  4. I can’t wait until you cross the finish line. You will be victorious, my friend!
    When time allows, I’d love to hear what project you’re working on for Nano.
    I also am anxious for your return to us. You’ve been missed. xox

  5. Tammy, you make my day. I swear, you have the best sense of humour and you always make me laugh. You’re just so real!!

    You always stand up and cheer us all on, whatever we’re doing, so I hope you can hear me shouting from my province to yours, TAMMY – YOU GO GIRL!!!
    🙂 Lisa

    • CDNWMN says:

      Coming from someone who I think is the queen of compassion and caring I couldn’t be more pleased to hear such high praise. Thanks for the cheers and encouragement!!! Comments like this lift my spirits so much it would be near impossible not to finish. 🙂

  6. Great post! I admire your ambition and drive!

    I like your term plotzer – I think that’s what I am too. As for Scrivener, hell ya! It’s a great program; I can’t believe that I haven’t used it up until now.

  7. Sally A Wolf says:

    YOU ROCK! I wish I could be in nano but there is no way I am lucky I get the time I do.

  8. Gareth says:

    You’re doing well and the fact that you’re still pushing with everything on your plate shows a will to succeed (like a toothless budgie. LOL) Have fun and thanks for the tip. I really should get back on with my own writing. Whilst its nothing in your league I might plan on getting 4 or 5 picture books done. I love having fun with those.

    • CDNWMN says:

      I have a league??? Cool! lol! I love the idea of trying a picture book. I wrote a tractor story for my son and I’m seriously thinking of having my artist friend sketch it up. May have to pick your brain on that one G! (omg toothless budgie, you frigiing crack me up!) 🙂

  9. You can do it!!!! Congrats Tammy!

  10. dannigrrl says:

    Ha! Great post. I’ve done NaNoWriMo and I work full-time and have a kid too. It’s not easy feat, but it’s so worth it. I learned a lot about myself as a writer. And remember, any words are better than no words. Whether you hit 50K or not, you’re still a winner. Now go write something!

  11. Tam…so sorry I’m late to check your blog…as usual you inspire others with your optimism and humour even in the face of difficulty. But knowing you…you’ll meet the target! You’re too determined and stubborn not too. The more you have on your plate, the more you do. You thrive on challenges and that’s what’s inspiring. You CAN do this! I know you well enough to know you will meet the target if it kills you. But, it won’t. You’ll finish by the end of the month. I have so much faith in your abilities and your talent. Go girl!!! 🙂

    • CDNWMN says:

      Awe I’m so glad you stopped by Pat, I know you’re so busy right now, *hugs* thank-you! And besides, without you pushing me along, I’d still be procrastinating. 😉 tee hee!

Leave a Reply

