Book Review – Red Hot Liberty by Devin O’Branagan

Molly O’Malley is a plucky single mom trying to survive the shark-infested waters of the real estate industry. Her new client Liberty True is a tin-foil-hat-wearing, conspiracy-theory-believing, rebel patriot who invites Molly to a different kind of tea party and drags her, kicking and screaming, into the revolution. Soon, Homeland Security is tailing Molly and she is receiving death threats. 

Sexy Englishman Robin Knight is determined to be Molly’s knight in shining armor, her former lover Jake Dalton is determined to win back her hand, and Satan’s mistress Lily Dalton is determined to destroy her. Further complicating Molly’s life is a rebellious daughter and a dog with romantic problems. 

Coming to her aid are a Goth real estate agent who lives on the dark side, a charismatic cowboy preacher who lives on the light side, a quirky psychic who lives between the worlds, and the departed spirit of her best friend.

A sassy tale about a woman on the verge of losing everything, who undertakes a quest to slay the dragon of fear and become her own hero.

The first book titled Red Hot Property blew me away with its chic lit humor so I knew the second book had a lot to live up to (especially as one my all time favorite characters dies rather spectacularly in the first) and yet again, I was not disappointed. You certainly don’t need to read the first book to be able to appreciate this one, but I do highly recommend it based on pure enjoyment factor alone. 🙂  Liberty gave me everything I was hoping to find. It warmed my heart to journey with these characters, some old and many new. Molly is a protag who is so imperfect she could be me, or perhaps you? Or at the very least a relative. 😉 

My one bone to pick is the ending, it was good so don’t get me wrong, but when the first book ended it felt like that could have been it – The End. I felt utterly fulfilled. Whereas this book ends with, not exactly a cliffhanger, but something that feels very close to one. The author has certainly done an excellent job of leaving me pouting and panting for a third installment. Why I outta…. 

No matter how you look at it this book is money well spent. Devin has the rare gift of comedic timing beautifully balanced by deep emotion, and she takes on some very taboo topics and subject matter.

I did laugh. I did cry. And just between you and me, I may have even performed the occasional daily tribal dance of joy.   😉

I give this book four Red Hot sparkly heels outta five.

 

 If you would like to purchase an ebook or print copy of your very own, please visit:   http://devinwrites.com/theredhotnovels/redhotliberty.html

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Book Review – Red Hot Liberty by Devin O’Branagan

  1. Thank you for the wonderful review, Tammy. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. Stay tuned for the third book in the series!

  2. Anne Michaud says:

    While I am not one who enjoys chick-lit, this looks really fun – I just might be tempted…

    Great review, Tammy! Do some more, please?

  3. Awesome review – I too, am not a chick-lit fan but this one sounds like something that might be fun to pick up! Thanks!

  4. I don’t like chick-lit at all, but I do like Devin’s novels. You guys will enjoy it if you do decide to pick it up 🙂

    Julie/Firewolf

  5. dannigrrl says:

    Okay, I really need to pick up these books…especially since I’ve been in the real estate industry for fifteen years! Thanks for the review, Tammy!

  6. Gareth says:

    A solid review and one that will definitely have people keeping an eye out for it.

    Great stuff Tammy.

    • T. Crosby says:

      Wow! K coming from the God of reviews my head is swelling. I really don’t know how you can read so many books and write such in depth reviews the way you do Gareth. Especially now that I’ve tried to do one on the odd occasion. Work builds respect. 🙂

  7. DianeG says:

    Well, I’m intrigued. Wonder if the book can live up to its review!

    Seriously, though – well done.

    DianeG

  8. Great review, Tammy! I’m visiting you from Devin’s forum and I’m now subscribed to your feed. Looking forward to reading your work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

