Sinkhole

NOTE: This poem contains a swear word, if you don’t like it, stop reading now while you still have the chance.

 Sinkhole

The Quiet surrounds me like a pissed off porcupine waiting to strike

Vibrant Intellect pools into ashen puddles

Darkness slithers in seeking out familiar havens

Frustration

Anger

Confidence now insecurity

Depression

Disenchantment

If peace exists, it eludes me.

Inspiration corroded by Fear

Hope asphyxiated by Hesitation.

A melody of words wandering without form

Unable to break free of this internal storm 

After being sunk into the depths of EditWorld these past couple weeks I found myself in a bit of a funk. So I wrote about it. Then, I picked up a news paper and found myself instantly reminded how very foolish my mood was. I have every reason to be thankful, I get to kiss my son, he’s alive, I get to kiss my spouse, he’s alive, I get to wake up and breathe, I’m alive. Today is a good day.

May God bless and be with all those who are suffering in Japan. My heart, thoughts, and prayers are with you all.

 Tammys Tip of Week

Are you experiencing some kind of deep inner emotion or turmoil? Write about it. Journaling your dreams, thoughts, emotions and anything else that comes into your head can be a wonderful tool for future use. Writing that next scene where you need to feel ‘in that character’s headspace’? Your journals can become your own reality library, something you can draw from in times of need; it’s win/win.

I carry a notepad with me everywhere I go in case the need arises, but I don’t keep a daily journal per say. I tend to write my emotions into prose, and that’s what goes into my journal. How about you, do you journal?  Daily? Once in a while? How do you use your emotion to help you as a writer?

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sinkhole

  1. I loved the poem, Tammy, especially this line: Hope asphyxiated by Hesitation.
    I think we’ve all felt that before.

    I don’t keep a journal, but I have a notebook I carry everywhere I go. You never know when inspiration will strike. When I’m in a particular mood, I will sometimes turn it into a flash or poetry (although the poetry is NEVER shared). I’m much better at turning my emotions into someone else’s than I am at writing them from my POV.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Thanks Danielle! I find it intriguing that you share your flash and not your poetry, but I understand what you mean about POV. I loved your flash this week and cannot wait for the next one. 🙂

  2. Gareth says:

    Hi Tammy,
    You manage to get emotional aspects worked into the shortened form of poetry and it works well for you.

    I may well have to start keeping a diary. Currently working on a writing project and not sure if its going to be a short story or possible full length novel. My main argument at the moment is whether to make it historical fiction or fantasy. Historical would require a lot of research, fantasy I can make up as I go along.

    • CDNWMN says:

      Ah yes, I went through a similiar dilemma and ‘chickened’ out. I barely have time to write most days and did not want to spend the little writing time that I have researching tons of details. I thought it easier to make it up….but alas, am now going back and building more into the piece to ‘ground’ it. Good luck in your decision making, and go with your gut. 🙂

  3. Great poem Tammy! And as always I love your honesty about life and writing and everything that goes with it. A wonderful read, and brutally honest and emotional. 🙂

  4. Love the poem 🙂

    I don’t journal, but since I write every day, I’m usually able to find a scene somewhere that I can spill the emotion into. If not…I write poetry LOL

  5. I especially like that pissed off porcupine imagery!

    I used to keep several journals for different reasons, but now I keep up:
    a) a travel journal (and I travel quite a bit)
    b) blogging (though I self-censor!)
    c) fiction writing (attempting at every day)
    d) lists (much of my life is planned and thought out by the use of lists. I guess they are my new “personal journal”)

  6. Livy Parker says:

    I have 5 journals – by my bed, in the bathroom (because all my story problems find answers in the shower), in the car, in my purse, and my main one in my living room. No idea of mine ever goes wasted:)

  7. Michelle Muto says:

    Good choice of words!

  8. Heidi says:

    Great poem, I’ve been there a few times.

    As for journaling. I’ve done bits and pieces and tried to start a daily practice of journalling a few months ago, but then someone read it and blew up at me about it and that kind of ruined it for me. Now I feel that if I write in it, he’ll be suspicious about what I’m writing and may sneak a peak. Oh well,

    • T. Crosby says:

      I’m really sorry to hear you had such a negative experience. Invading on someones personal thoughts, that they don’t want shared, is very NOT cool. Not cool at all. And if this person were to write down everything that went through thier own head, would it look so different? Likely not.
      Simply becuase one chooses to repress, while another chooses to express, shouldn’t make it any more or less sacred to the owner.

Leave a Reply

