Photo Prompt Friday

 

I loved Ian’s idea, and I had so much fun reading all the great posts, that I thought I’d give it a try on my own blog this week.

Keep it under; 300 words or less and I’ll do a random draw for all who post and the winner gets an avatar or banner of their choosing. 

Tammys Tip of The Week

On occasion, I found myself feeling a little lost within my own manuscript. Having never worked on such a large compilation before it sometimes overwhelms me.   So to make the huge amount of words on paper feel like more like a friend I went online and compiled a large assortment of character pictures. Being that I’m a visual person, this really helps. Now I put the pictures out before me of the characters in the particular scene I’m working on, being able to see them looking up at me helps me focus. I don’t know if this is something you already do yourself, or if it will be helpful to you at all, but there it is.  Lemme know your thoughts and feel free to share your own tips. 🙂

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photo Prompt Friday

  1. Gareth says:

    Hey Tammy,
    Here’s a quick piece I put together, comes in at 298.

    Crime Scenes are always tricky to deal with as you bypass the tape, detour round the detritus and seek to find the clues to trace the killer through their carelessness. This one was no different, but to my eye, it looked like another murder by “Bloody” Mary Rose, a nom de guerre dubbed by the papers for her penchant for leaving an exsanguinating rose dripping onto a copy of the Bible.

    Psychologists had long argued her motives but the pattern fit the usual, where she obsessed about the victim, imagined a fictional life together and when catching another woman with them, would drug them and then take her time mutilating the body in whichever twisted method took her fancy.

    Sometimes she’d use knives, others scissors and some of the creations were almost artistic as the latest, Matt Robertson would have attested to had he still breathed.

    Lying on the bed, his body had been blood-eagled in the tradition of 8th Century Raiders who would open a person up, pull their lungs outside and place wooden slats within to hold the other organs in place. It’s a slow painful way to go and his final hours on earth can’t have been easy.

    Taking the photo’s of the Crime Scene, Frank started to laugh, “Mike, I can’t believe that she underlined the tenth commandment.”

    “Why?”

    “Well she underlined “Nor Covet His wife”

    “Yeah and?”

    “Well she certainly coveted his ass, there’s a huge chunk out of it?”

    Looking closely I saw that he was right, “We’ll have to get the coroner to look closely at that.”

    Perhaps she’d finally slipped up and as Juliet had once said “…that which we call a rose, by any other name would smell as sweet…” Or rather hopefully at least as sweet as victory…

  2. dannigrrl says:

    That’s a great way to stay grounded in a scene when you write. I know a lot of writers who “cast” their characters and use those visuals to help with writing. Others will choose a playlist or songs that fit the scene whether action, romantic, suspenseful, and use the music to set the mood as they write. For me, I prefer silence and a dark room with only the glow of the screen. It lets me get lost in the scene in my head and the words fly from there.

  3. Oh, nice photo. One of these days I’ll have some time to participate… and I love the idea. I’m going to use it one of these days soon 🙂

    Julie

  4. I create character sheets for my main characters. I know what they look like, what their goals/stakes/motivations are. But I also like to know other quirk about them. Sometimes, these are things the reader may never know, but it helps me flesh them out better.

    I also tend to see actors/actresses on TV and think, “That’s so-and-so! They’d be perfect!”

Leave a Reply

