Welcome to my Blog!

    
 
I spent some time thinking of what to write for my first ever post, and came up blank. Then I remembered that often the best place to start is with a confession. So here goes; 
 
Hello, my name is Tammy, and I, am a writer.
 

There is no known cure for this disease. In fact I’ve been told that neither fame nor fortune can cure us of said affliction. Naturally, one day I hope to find this out first hand. I mean you simply can’t believe what you read these days, now can you?

My writing began with an idea I had two years ago, which spurned into an, as yet, unpublished novel. After writing over 90,000 words, it became very evident that I had no clue what I was doing. So, I began tons of research and investigation into the wonderful world of writing. Now on my fourth draft of my manuscript, I realize my grammar is still as pathetic as it ever was (please do not hold this against the many grammar books I’ve been reading and will often recommend). It’s not their fault that some old dogs take longer to learn a new trick.

For me, grammar is like cooking, if I learn how to do it right I will be expected to do it all the time. But I digress, the point I’m trying to get to is that it doesn’t matter if your grammar is bad or your punctuation is atrocious the point is simply that you WRITE. You do it for love, for passion, for therapy, you WRITE. When you’re done that, you write some more.  And when you’re ready to take it to the next level you join a writers forum, a critique forum, and you LEARN. You listen, you grow, and you LEARN.  Then you Write. Then when you’re done that you purchase a pile of books on writing and grammar and you learn some more. Then you WRITE some more. Then you sign up for a bunch of blogs about writing and LEARN some more. Seeing a trend here?

The thing with being a writer is that you’re never really done learning how to be a better one. This is both the gift and the curse of being who and what we are, and I for one, wouldn’t want it any other way. 

I’m loving the journey I’m on, and I hope you join me for the ride.

This entry was posted in Daily Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Welcome to my Blog!

  1. Super excited to see more. Looking good so far!!!

    Julie/Firewolf

    • cdnwmn says:

      Thanks Julie! I could not have done this without your help, support, and patience for stupid people. 😉 You’re a gem! 🙂

      • LOL, you did most of it yourself once I got you on the right track 🙂 Not stupid at all. Besides, if you were trying to give me photoshop help… yeah… you’d think I was the stupid one.

        Julie/Firewolf

  2. Casi says:

    I, for one, will certainly join you for the ride. That was a wonderful first post.

    • T. Crosby says:

      Thanks Casi! Now I just have to finish adding in all the links to everyones sites. 🙂 I got a little impatient and jumped ahead. But I’ll get on it today. 🙂

  3. Welcome to the blog world, CW! Oh, wait, you have a real name now. 🙂

    Great first post. It’s SO true. You never stop writing and learning and writing and learning. I’ve been with my critique group for a year and a half now and I’ve come a long way, but I know I have a long way to go still. But it’s an exciting journey to be on and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  4. Gareth says:

    An open and honest post. I have serious problems with dialogue as well as shortening my sentences in my writing. This is due to having to write too many essays during my time at Uni, I find it hard to change my writing style and its one that I keep falling into.

    Like you, I’ve read self help writing books and whilst it can do to a certain degree, my brain is taking way to long to adjust to the lessons imparted.

    Hopefully we’ll both improve as things go along and best of luck with your blog.

    • T. Crosby says:

      I hear the word essay and my ears slam shut. Ugh. I can appreciate how hard it would be not to fall into such firmly ingrained habits.
      Loved this line “my brain is taking way to long to adjust to the lessons imparted”, so glad I’m not the only who feels this way. Thanks for posting! 🙂

  5. Livy Parker says:

    Yay, Tammy!

    I LOVE YOUR BANNER!!!! Well, I love ALL your banners 😉

    Can’t wait to read your stuff on here….

  6. Love your website, Tammy…every bit of it! Thank you for inviting me. I look forward to returning. 🙂

  7. Write, learn, write, learn… great blog Tam. I loved your honesty, and it’s a really good first post for your new blog. Its all a learning experience as we grow and write, but you’ve captured the essence in your post. Nice share…good confession! 🙂

  8. annaivy says:

    Great first post! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂

  9. Wonderful first post! Your blog looks great and I can’t wait to read more of what you have to say/write. 😀

    Thank you very much for sharing this with us!

  10. Well, welcome to blogging! I’m impressed at how pretty it looks. My blog was nowhere near this organized at my first post. (Is it yet? I’m not even sure….).

    And I like your writing, learning, writing triple slam dunk. Good thoughts!

  11. kevin mcleod says:

    Congrats Tammy. Very impressed with what I saw and read.Left me with wanting to read more!! Look forward to reading your work. Best of luck on your writings and novels.

  12. monique says:

    Congrats on your blog Tammy, it looks great!

Leave a Reply

